Top 10 Tools I Can’t Live Without

October 7, 2007

I have a myriad of web-based tools that I can’t live without. After reading Chris Garrett’s top 10 tools I can’t live without, I thought I’d take a stab at narrowing down my list to ten “gems” that help make my web life easier.

Twitbin – I love Twitter, and this Firefox extension lets me post to Twitter and read my friend’s tweets, without leaving the site I’m currently surfing.

meebo – A web-based instant messaging site that allows you to login to multiple IM accounts including AIM, Yahoo!, MSN, Google Talk, ICQ and Jabber.

del.icio.us bookmarks – Another Firefox add-on which integrates my del.icio.us links into Firefox. Not only can you search your bookmarks, you can view them alphabetically. (Something you currently cannot do with del.icio.us.)

TinyURL – Make those long URLs tiny so that they don’t break in email postings. Great for sharing links on microblogging sites like Twitter, that limit the number of characters you can use.

ZoomClouds – Create a tag-based cloud using the RSS feed from your blog or website.

Tumblr – A “no frills” blogging tool that lets you post links, photos, quotes, and video.

Feedburner – provides feed and site stats for bloggers. Stats include visitors, page views, referrers, searches, and outgoing links.

BlogBackupOnline – provides an effortless way to backup, restore, and export your blog.

Zoho – Online software including word processing, spreadsheets, and a presentation tool.

RSS newsreaders – Okay, I’m cheating here. I’m an RSS junkie and I’m now down to three newsreaders: Newsgator, Bloglines, and Google Reader.

So what are your “must have” tools?

2 Responses to “Top 10 Tools I Can’t Live Without”

  1. alicia Says:

    great list! love it…


  2. […] Angela at melange takes Chris G.’s lead and shares her Top 10 Tools list – I’ll be checking some of them out in more detail. […]


Leave a Reply

