9 alternate ways to embed flickr photos onto your webpages

March 17, 2008

If you’re a big Flickr user, you’ll want to check out kuanhoong’s 8 alternate ways to embed flickr photos onto your webpages.

The list includes reviews and screenshots of the following Flickr add-ons and utilities:

1. Javascript FlickrShow
2. flickrSLiDR
3. Slideflickr
4. Mbedr
5. Flickr Slideshow Generator
6. Slideoo
7. Yourminis Flickr widget
8. PictoBrowser

I’ll add # 9 to the list: BigHugeLabs fd’s Flickr Toy.

fd’s Flickr Toy includes the following Flickr blog tools and utilities:

Blog Header Generator lets you automatically turn one of your photos into a WordPress blog header.

Flickr DNA allows you to show off your Flickr profile with a link button.

Mosaic Maker creates a mosaic from a photoset, favourites, tags, or individual images.

Profile Widget lets you enter your Flickr username, email, or user ID to create a customized image that will automagically update itself throughout the day. It shows a selection of ten of your photos and some statistics about your Flickr usage.

(Want to learn more about Flickr? Check out the CommonCraft video, “online photosharing in plain english“, or head on over to Flickr.)

4 Responses to “9 alternate ways to embed flickr photos onto your webpages”

  1. Todd Says:

    Thanks for the info. I added FlickrShow to my site!

  2. angelacw Says:

    You’re welcome. Have fun with it!


  3. I’ve never had a Flickr account (not quite sure why, laziness perhaps?), but I’ve been meaning to open one forever now. Now that I’ve bought a new camera I’ve got a good impetus. 😉

    I’ve often wondered about photo blogs however (for the record, my blog is very, very photo-less), are photo blogs aimed primarily at a people-you-already-know audience, or are people actually interested in seeing photos?

    The reason I ask is that I’ve often contemplated adding a concurrent photo part of my blog, where I can publish a sort of stream of photos — yet I wonder if my readers would be interested in this type of thing. And really, the photos would have nothing to do with the main things I blog about — which is primary concern.

    Thanks for the embedding ideas though!

  4. angelacw Says:

    Thank you for your comments, Luke! I would highly recommend Flickr for sharing pictures with family and friends. Flickr has a private sharing feature, and unlike Facebook, you own the rights to all your phtotos.

    As a blogger, I also use Flickr to save pictures for linking across multiple blogs and for feeding them into my personal Tumblr and Twitter.

    Have you attended a conference recently? You’ll most likely find photos in Flickr!

    As a tag-junkie, I love the fact that I can tag all my photos and find similar photos by other users. The groups in Flickr have allowed me to connect with people who share similar interests and hobbies.

    As one of the converted, I could go on and on about the benefits of Flickr — I’d highly recommend you try it out!


Leave a Reply

