Learning to eRead

January 2, 2010

Did you receive an ebook reader for Christmas? I did. I’ve spent the past few days learning to eRead on my Sony Reader (Touch Edition).

While I’ve tried the Stanza, Kindle, and Kobo iPhone/Touch apps, nothing compares to the larger 6 inch screen of my Reader. I’m also getting used e-ink. It’s probably the biggest drawback to ebook readers right now. On the plus side, Sony’s Reader software installed very nicely on my Mac, and supports Adobe Digital Editions. The Sony Reader supports the EPUB format, which essentially means there are lots of sources for ebooks.

If you are looking for some free ebooks to download, check out the following sources (and be mindful of the copyright legislation for your country):

Google Books
The Grandfather of free ebook search.

Feedbooks
Click on the “public domain” link to browse thousands of free and original books.

FictionWise
Click on the “free ebooks” link to browse their collection.

Kobo
Click on the “Free ebooks” link to download books for the web, mobile and EPUB format.

Project Gutenburg
Project Gutenberg is the place where you can download over 30,000 free ebooks to read on your PC, iPhone, Kindle, Sony Reader or other portable device.

Project Gutenburg Canada
The ebooks on this website are in the Canadian public domain.

Smashwords
Click on the “filter by: free ebooks” to browse for ebooks by indie authors and publishers.

As well, don’t forgot to check out your local library.  I’ve already borrowed several ebooks from Vaughan Public Libraries. Sony also hosts a library finder page, where you can browse for local libraries that offer ebooks for loan.

If you are considering an ebook reader purchase, be sure to read Gadget Lab’s How to Choose an eBook Reader, and the exhaustive ebook reader comparison chart on the Mobile Read Wiki.

Happy eReading!


2 Responses to “Learning to eRead”

  1. Cindy Says:

    I have two e-book readers myself-both Kindles. I am planning on taking the next step up and buy the newest Sony. I love reading books on the readers and have even started a personal blog so that I can write about this great new technology. lol

  2. Melanie Says:

    I got a nook for Christmas and it arrived a little over a week ago. I had doubts that I would enjoy reading on an eReader but so far I love it! I just reviewed it on my blog, too.
    Thanks for the free eBook resources. I would also recommend Manybooks.net


Leave a Reply

